The History Department awards several scholarships based on academic merit and financial need each spring. To apply, fill out the Scholarship Application Form and return it, and the supporting materials, by March 1, 2023.

Contact Professor Charles Muntz with any questions.

Students interested in college and university scholarships should fill out the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) form and visit the Office of Financial Aid.

Scholarship Application Form 

Applications for the 2024-2025 academic year are due March 1, 2024.

History Scholarships:

David W. Edwards Scholarship

All current history majors, transfer students or incoming freshman history majors are eligible. Preference will be given to those students displaying financial need.

George Billingsly Award

Awarded for the best paper on a Middle Eastern or Asian Topic.

George William Ray Memorial Award

History majors of Junior or Senior standing or graduate students interested in the study of western civilization are eligible. Students must have a GPA of 2.0 or higher.

Georgia V. G. Saunders Award

For an outstading history maor who is also a veteran or child of a veteran

Gordon H. McNeil Award

For an outstanding Undergraduate Research Paper in European History

Gordon H. McNeil Undergraduate Paper Award

Helen and Hugo Goecke andAdlyn and Harry Kennedy Memorial Travel Award

Stokely-McAdoo Family International Study Scholarship

For undergraduate history majors to pursue research and study opportunities internationally, excluding locations in North America.

The J. Margaret Roberts Endowed Award Fund

An award providing financial assistance and encouragement to history majors on the basis of academic excellence. The award is named in honor of J. Margaret Roberts a 1944 graduate of this department.

Fulbright Award 

For Senior History Students with the highest academic achievement

James J. Hudson Award 

For the study of military history

Jesse Taylor Jr. Endowed Scholarship

For an outstanding history undergraduate major

Mary Hudgins Endowed Scholarship

Mathis Glenn Newkirk Award

For an outstanding paper on the history of international relations

Oscar Fendler Award

For best paper in Arkansas or Southern History

Phi Alpha Theta Award 

For an outstading undergraduate paper

Robert E. Reeser Award

For significant contribution to the study of the classical world

The Ralph V. Turner Award Fund

The fund supports travel for faculty, undergraduates and graduate students of the department of history for research in England and/or Scotland.

Sidney A. Moncrief Scholarship

For the study of black history

Gene E. McKissic Endowed Scholarship

Arkansas High School; 3.0 GPA; Financial Need and member of underrepresented student group; returning student; leadership on campus or in community

J. Harry and Catherine H. Wood Scholarship Fund

For Arkansas natives in the top 25% of their class. Preference will be given to those students displaying financial need

Walter Lee Brown Scottish Rite of Freemasonry Scholarship

Past Award Winners